Smith faces challengers in August 11 state primary


Minnesota’s primary election on August 11 will determine which candidates will appear on the November 3 general election ballot. In the primary election, voters can only vote for candidates from one party. In other words, if you vote for a Democrat in one race and a Republican in another, your ballot will be rejected.

Across the state, the ballot will include several Democrats and Republicans running for the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Tina Smith.

Smith is being challenged by four other Democrats and five Republicans.

In the Eighth U.S. Congressional District, Republican Incumbent Pete Stauber is challenged by fellow Republican Harry Robb Welty. The endorsed Democratic challenger, Quinn Nystrom, is the only Democrat in the race.

Other candidates on the primary ballot for U.S. Senate and House of Representatives are from the Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis and Legal Marijuana Now parties.

Depending on where you live, there may also be primaries for other races, including state senator and representative, county offices (commissioner, sheriff, attorney, and others), city offices (mayor and council), and school board.

In Kathio Township and the city of Isle in Mille Lacs County, where Districts I and IIa are located, there are no other primary contests. There are also no other contests in District III communities of Aazhoomog and Hinckley.

In District II, two Republican candidates are competing to run for State Senator against Democrat Steve Samuelson. There are also two McGregor School District questions on the approval of school building bonds.

You can see what’s on your ballot at